Separable multiple-unit trains

On the go both individually and together

The Rhaetian Railway is acquiring 36 new separable multiple-unit trains from Stadler Rail. The first separable multiple-unit trains will be put into operation during the course of 2020 between Landquart and Davos (Filisur) following successful on-track trials and training. As soon as enough vehicles are available, separable multiple-unit trains are expected to start running between Landquart, Klosters and Davos/St. Moritz in 2021.

The procurement of these separable multiple-unit trains is the biggest-ever acquisition of rolling stock in the history of the Rhaetian Railway. The order consists of 36 four-part multiple-unit trains. The order volume amounts to 361 million Swiss francs.

Equipped with automatic couplers, these multi-unit trains suppose a significant update of the RhB's fleet of rolling stock, and promise to increase greatly the productivity of the Rhaetian Railway overall.

In June 2020, the Rhaetian Railway announced in a press release that it would order a further 20 Capricorn multiple-unit trains from Stadler Rail.

Each of these 76.44 metre-long separable multiple-unit trains has 35 seats in first class, 137 seats in second class and two places for wheelchair users. The trains offer a high level of passenger comfort, while fulfilling the requirements of Switzerland's disability equality laws. The wide doors are designed to allow passengers to get on an off quickly and easily at each stop, and the high proportion of low-floor accesses also contributes to ease of entry and exit. These separable multiple-unit trains offer sufficient space for bicycles, skis, sports equipment, prams and luggage.

Separable configuration
Each multiple-unit train can be divided into sections. The RhB’s initial use of the concept will entail the operation of two multiple units, coupled together as a single train to run from Landquart to Klosters Platz. The train will then divide into two sections at Klosters Platz to allow one part to continue on from Klosters Platz to St. Moritz, while the second multiple unit runs from Klosters Platz to Davos. When running in the opposite direction, the two parts of the separable multiple-unit train will be coupled back together automatically at Klosters Platz to continue on to Landquart as a single train.